This is the "Welcome" page of the "Digital Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Archives  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.northgeorgia.edu/archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Technnology Center

Profile Image
NGCSU Special Collections & Archives
Contact Info
Library Technology Center
Dahlonega, GA 30597
706.864.1327

or Brandon Gipson
Send Email
 
 

Digital Archives Background

Creating digital images of fragile historic items is the preferred method of preservation.  By creating images of an item, a researcher can intimately examine the item without physically handling it, thus slowing deterioration. The Special Collections & Archives of North Georgia College & State University began digitizing its more fragile collections in 2007.  Through a grant from the Georgia Humanities Council and the National Endowment for the Arts and through appropriations from the Georgia General Assembly, we were able to digitize 100 nineteenth century glass plate negatives produced by local photographer Lon Bruce.  In August 2009, the Library Technology Center, with assistance from Lyrasis and the Sloan Foundation, digitized a selection of historically significant North Georgia College & State University Undergraduate Bulletins/Catalogs and yearbooks (the Cyclops).  As funding becomes available, the Library Technology Center plans to complete both publications' digitization from the first issue to the most recent, as well as developing additional preservation projects.

 

Please contact the Archives at the Library Technology Center for more information.

 

Giving

The Digital Archives

To support our efforts to digitize, and therefore preserve our historic resources, please consider donating funds to help cover the cost of shipping and imaging.

Gifts to the University Archives & Special Collections

The library welcomes gifts to the University Archives and Special Collections. The goal of these collections is to preserve, educate, and promote understanding of our collective past. Because of the high costs of conservation and preservation, the library must be selective in the items it accepts. Each gift is evaluated and researched prior to acceptance to ensure that the donation can be appropriately accommodated and supported. The library is committed to meeting the guidelines for preservation and conservation provided by the State of Georgia Archives.

University Archives

Of particular interest are photographs, university publications, documents, and manuscript items that enrich our understanding of the role of the North Georgia College & State University in the lives of our students and the community. Because of the unique preservation and storage requirements, the library does not generally accept gifts of objects, fabrics, uniforms, memorabilia, and items requiring extensive restoration. To discuss a gift to the University Archives, please contact Shawn Tonner, Director of Library Services at 706-864-1514 or Cynthia Horne at 706-864-1522.

Special Collections

The library's rare and valuable books are housed in Special Collections. These works are noteworthy for the information they contain, their bindings, inscriptions, or the ownership history. The goal of this collection is to educate, through exhibits and research, the importance of printed knowledge. The collection has developed over time through gifts and careful purchases. Of particular interest are works on Appalachia, North Georgia and the region, gold and gold mining, military and local history, and collections of rare materials. Because of the high costs of preserving rare books, the library must be selective. Gifts of rare and valuable books should be discussed prior to donation with Shawn Tonner, Director of Library Services at 706-864-1514 or Cynthia Horne at 706-864-1522.

 

To make a monetary donation to support library archival projects and collections, please go to   North Georgia College & State University Foundation to Donate Now

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip